My Wisconsin Bucket List

[My City]

[My State]

I’m a loyal Wisconsinite–born and bred–and I’ve lived in Madison for six years now.  Seems like forever.

As much as I love it, I also know it is time to move on.  And so, four months from now, I will be packing up and moving to Tulsa, Oklahoma for two (or more) years of teaching high school English through the Teach For America program.

Knowing I’m about to move away and teach English to high schoolers has made me very aware of my “selective” grammar and complete inability to spell.  It has also reminded me how much I love where I live.  In the few months I have left, therefore, I have decided to conquer a “Wisconsin Bucket List” of 50 things to do before I leave.  I have also decided to blog about it.

My friends and I have had many adventures over the years.  We do a lot of weird shit.  Some things are better left to the past.  Others can be recreated.  There are also things I have always wanted to do in Madison but never got around to.  Say, for instance, taking a tour of the State Capitol.

I’m not going to tell you what all I’ve come up with, but I will say I’m pretty damn proud of the list.  It includes so much about what makes Madison, Madison–everything from spicy cheese bread at the market to a movie at the Orpheum to picnics in Library Mall to burgers at the Old Fashioned.  It also includes a lot of weird stuff you wouldn’t expect (demon rave?)

So there you have it–your preview.  Enjoy!

~ by Rachael on January 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
