Turkey Mountain

Word on the street is that there is a mountain Tulsa.  It is called Turkey Mountain and it looks like this:

File:Turkey mountain.JPG

Turkey Mountain, courtesy of Wikipedia, courtesy of Nathaniel Ball

Not much of a mountain, I know.  Not even close really.  Still it reminds me of a really bad metaphor.  Since I am going to be an English teacher in practically no time, I feel it is my life’s work to evangelize metaphors.  Metaphors and puns, for ever and ever, Amen.

I feel like I’m climbing Turkey Mountain every afternoon around lunchtime, when I feel like I just can’t shake another hand.  I can’t smile again, can’t remember someone’s name again, can’t say anything intelligent.  I forget my paperwork.  I can barely speak in English.  I long for the comfort of doing such things as sitting at Willaby’s eating vegan pancakes at 4am with the same old crew.  Life was simpler then.

Making friends, finding roommates, and the like seems WAY harder than closing the achievement gap these days.   Helping to save our nation’s children I can do, but remember one more name I cannot.  This whole acting professionally, not responding like a smart-ass at every turn is totally wack.  I feel like I’m climbing straight uphill and falling behind fast.

Then I step back and look at it in perspective and begin realizing that my own little Turkey Mountain is really just a blip on the radar.  So many other, more important things are going on around me, and I will get through the introduction process sooner or later.

This morning, we participated in a fabulous panel discussion on diversity.  A local actress performed, first, for us, telling us the story of Mrs. Ada Lois Supuel Fisher, a brave woman who in the late 1940s fought for the right to attend law school in Oklahoma under Jim Crow.  Her case was a precursor to the famous Brown vs. The Board of Education, and hearing the discrimination she faced was both devastating and inspiring.  All I could think throughout was what could lead people to hate so much?

The afternoon was rough, I admit.  We did our paperwork processing for Tulsa Public Schools, and it was very confusing and disorienting.  Also, we peed in cups.  After a week of trying to appear professional at every turn, it was kind of like whaa?

Tonight the Tulsa Corps had dinner at the Full Moon Cafe on Cherry St., which is the neighborhood where they have the farmers’ market and some cute shops.  I drove around for a while with some girls looking at apartments and neighborhoods, and I have to admit adjusting to the suburban sprawl is going to be difficult.  Still, I feel I can get used to anything.  Hopefully we will be signing a lease tomorrow.

The low point of the day? Walking into the processing room and learning I was completely unprepared.

The high point of the day?  Sitting next to my fellow Madison, Wisconsin buddy at the foot of the stage at the Full Moon, listing bewildered as the entire restaurant sang “I’ve Got Friends in Low Places” during karaoke.  It’s still stuck in my head, and I was one of two who didn’t know the words :)

~ by Rachael on June 10, 2011.

One Response to “Turkey Mountain”

  1. I’ve always thought the Blue Moon Saloon would be a great name for, like, a pub or something. But Full Moon Cafe is good, too. :)

Leave a Reply

 
