Laundry Day

Clear, winter sun shining through an open door

Propped open with a bottle of laundry detergent

Breeze breezing in, clean and crisp and dry and pleasant

The cold air barely touches me

Through the open door, I see a bush with bright red berries

A thick old tree still holding on to dull brown leaves

Houses beyond that, all angles and lines

Windows belonging to people who live near me

And in the distance, the skyscrapers of Tulsa

Stand tall and erect, white against a clear blue sky

Outside winter looks warm

The cold air barely touches me

The sunlight casts few shadows outside in deep contrast

And keeps us all

Away from seasonal depression.

I sit inside

On my bed, stripped of its sheets for laundry day

Watching my cinnamon rabbit discovering

Nooks and crannies she’s been to before

And the cold air barely touches me

~ by Rachael on January 6, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
